posted in: News | 0

Round 2 of the 2019 Burly Pro Gti Challenge is set to take place on Saturday 16 March at the Killarney International
Raceway in conjunction with the opening round of the Campos 600 SA Endurance Series. If the 1 st round is anything to
behold, crowds are sure in for yet another spectacular round the fiercest main circuit formula in the Western Cape.

In Class A long time returning old warhorse Nian “Race Muis” du Toit (Cheapercars/Allied Fibreglass Jetta III) took a clean
sweep of points to dominate over the rest of the chasing pack. With outright raw pace, will anyone be able to match
Race Muis? Returning from an action packed opening round of Polo Cup, ex class champion Jurie “Umpie” Swart (Alpine
Autohaus Polo 6R) looks to take the fight to Race Muis as the youngster had a huge moment in his Polo Cup campaign
and will be looking for better results this time. Hampered by clutch issues in the previous round, series veteran Jano van
der Westhuizen (Wingfield Motors/Kwikfix PoloVivo) looks to return with a vengeance and fight for the top step.

But also well capable of fighting for the top step is young superstar Colin Nicholas Meder (International Tube Technology
Polo 6R) who was able to put in another solid result for a double podium. Can Meder go one better this round? Also
claiming a Podium on his return to the class was 2013 overall champion Christopher Swart (Village Paint & Hardware
Edgemead Jetta II). The ex champ was involved in a cut throat duel with CHD Chairmain Francois “Trappies” van Tonder
(Universal Healthcare Racing Polo 6R) who narrowly missed out the podium. Completing the class lineup is Chris Roberts
(Roberts Racing Jetta II) who is also on the hunt for some new found race pace while Western Cape Rally campaigner
Paulus Franken (Manitou Group Polo 6R) will be on the hunt for a better result after a disastrous opening round.

In Class B, it 2017 overall & current class C champion Marco Busi (Automan Polo Playa) who reigned supreme on his
return to the class. But it was by no means an easy task as current overall champion Eden Thompson (Somerset
Refrigeration/MAD Performance Golf I GTi) put in a superb effort but was unable to come away with the victory. Looking
for some well deserved redemption, Thompson is ready to fight for the top step and prove that the number 1 on the
door belongs to him. But these 2 champions will have more than each other to contend with as series chairman Zaki “Mr
Worx” Hendricks (Wheelworx Mag Repair Centre Polo Classic) had a splash of magic and proved that he is a worthy
contender for the top step. But the fight for victory became a 4 way battle as Mario Roux (Automar Automotive Selling
Jetta II) was right in the thick of things.

Getting another top 5 result was 2017 sensation Mr Consistency Wayne Field (Coetzee’s Auto Coachworks Jetta II) who
already shows early signs of great pace and coud soon be running with the best in class. Hoping for a run of better luck is
2018 3 rd overall and class B runner up Gideon Serfontein (Goeiehoop Onderdele Golf II GTi) as Serfontein was unable to
make it to the startline after engine failure in the Friday practice session. Completing class entrants is 2017 rookie Grant
Cloete (Upstream Connect Golf I GTi) as Cloete nearly lost his vehicle after a turn 3 incident with Marc Thompson
(Somerset Refrigeration/MAD Performance Polo Classic) looks to edge closer to the pack.

The synonymous class C wolfpack yet again delivered some spectacular first class racing as Vega University Bcomm
student & Franschhoek Resident Giordano Lupini (SA Accelerate 102/CIR Construction/LaVie de Luc Golf I GTi) final
managed to get the 2018 monkey of his back and clinched victory in both heats after a hard fought tussle with returning
sensation Jarred Simpson (Greenz Plumbing/Intramech Golf I GTi) & Paul Winter (Shorty Smalls Racing Golf I GTi). But
the pick of the pack came in the second heat as class rookie and WPMC karter Jason Coetzee (Automan Golf I GTi) was
right in the mix for the victory fight and giving the front runners a run for their money. Just a touch off the leading pack
was Ian Kapp (Hydracor Hydraulics Golf I GTi) with series vice chairman Gert du Plessis (Cheapercars Golf I GTi) and class
newcomer Kyle Wiltshire (Flatline Racing Golf I GTi) involved in a midpack battle of their own.

Showing signs of improvement is another class rookie Daniel Munna (ISE Group Golf I GTi) as a welcome return to 2016
rookie Alfie van Zyl (Union Signs Golf I GTi) with Steven Vermaak (Most Wanted Tuning Golf I GTi) completing the class

With all drivers ready to take on the second of competition, the action is getting red hot with a mere 7 rounds remaining
including the annual away race later this season. Qualifying is set to take place @ 9:15am with the 1 st heat scheduled @
11:35am and the 2 nd heat @ 15:05pm.

Let slip the dogs of war!!!

– Written By: Byron Wanza