Saturday, 19 March 2016 21:17


Killarney’s Bold Marine WP GTi Challenge delivers action aplenty, controversy too as du Toit walks it

Nian du Toit was unstoppable in Saturday’s second round 2016 Bold Marine Western Province GTi Challenge at Killarney, clearing off to two dominant Class A wins as he left action and controversy aplenty in his wake, where Jacques Geldenhuys continued his unbeaten run in Class B and newcomer Bryan Morgan upset the applecart to take the Class C win.

Challenge veteran du Toit (Cheaper Cars Jetta) was untroubled as he swept to a dominant first heat win over battling trio Marco Busi (Automan Jetta), Jano van der Westhuizen (Kwikfix/Bessie Bester Motors Polo) and Chris Swart (Spongebob Jetta) with Andrew Goslett (GAP Jetta) keeping a watching brief. But van der Westhuizen was excluded from the results for not having the correct series decals on his car…

Behind all that, Jacques Geldenhuys (Ferroli Golf 2) sped off to Class B honours from Scotty Hayes (Jetta) and Peet van der Walt (PSW Sport Polo), Eden Thompson (Golf 2) and Cash Cars Golf 1 duo Herman Lazarus and Roelof Tolman who found himself embroiled in a Golf 1 Class C lead battle, where series newcomer Brian Morgan (Greatsoft Payroll) set the cat among the pigeons by taking a debut victory in the class. 

He beat Dewald Lubbe (Combustion Technology), Jarred Simpson (Greatsoft), Ebrahim Levy (Jive Armien Levy), Gideon Serfontein (Goeie Hoop Onderdele), Dillon Joubert (Powder Coating World/TAC Steel), Dillon Jeary (Lucan Racing), Francois Erasmus (QTech/Modjets/GAP), and Giordano Lupini (Monroe AutoNews RWJ).

Du Toit sped off to another Class A and overall victory in race 2 where he again led Busi home from van der Westhuizen (with the correct stickers on his car this time) and Swart, that trio once again covered by that literal blanket and Pieter Kriel (Golf 1) a little further back to see du Toit take overall victory for the day over Busi, Swart and Goslett.

Geldenhuys had to work harder for his second heat Class B win, with van der Walt and Hayes both within six-tenths of a second of Jaques at the flag; Thompson and Lazarus next up and Tolman, Wayne Field (Golf 2) and newcomers Norman (Polo) and Earl Josephs (Golf) dicing among the Class C bunch, leaving Jacques Geldenhuys to take the overall win from Peet van der Walt, who was just 0.18 seconds clear of Scotty Hayes after both heats.

There was more controversy in Class C, where Ebrahim Levy fought back from a troubled first heat to lead Jarred Simpson home, but Levy was penalised for a last corner incident with Dewald Lubbe, handing the win to Simpson, who officially led Morgan, Serfontein, Joubert, Erasmus, Lupini, Lubbe and the penalised Levy home. None of that would have had any effect on Bryan Morgan taking a fine debut Class C overall victory with Jarred Simpson second from Gideon Serfontein. The results however remain provisional.

Action, controversy and all, the Bold Marine GTi Challenge once again starred on an overall thrilling Wingfield Motors Killarney PowerSeries program — they will next be out to impress at the national Extreme Festival races at Killarney Saturday 16 April - better you diarise that one now…

Last modified on Sunday, 20 March 2016 10:37